HAPPILY EVER AFTER: KIERA CASS REVIEW

Today we’re going to be discussing Happily Ever After, a bind up of several novellas that are tied to the Selection series. I’ve been a huge fan of these books for several years now, and I finally got around to reading this collection of stories. I really enjoyed this, and I’m going to share my thoughts on all of the books in this novellas.

Meet Prince Maxon before he fell in love with America, and a girl named Amberly before she became queen. See the Selection through the eyes of a guard who watched his first love drift away and a girl who fell for a boy who wasn’t the prince. This gorgeous collection features four novellas from the captivating world of Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series, as well as exclusive, never-before-seen bonus content.

RATING: 4/5 STARS

The Prince

This one was my almost  favorite novella, but it was beat out by a baby sliver. We got a chance to see Maxon before and up to the selection, and it was fantastic to see the initial parts of the selection from his perspective. I’ve always really loved Maxon, and seeing some parts from his perspective was great.

The Guard

In this one, we got to see what was going on in Aspen’s head while he was a guard in the castle. During the series, I’ve never been a huge fan of him, but this book made me look at him a little differently. Sometimes seeing the opposite perspective gives the reader a chance to appreciate a character a little more, and I definitely got that vibe with this one. We also got a little glimpse at the guard’s own happily ever after too, and it was so cute!

The Queen

Amberly was one of my favorite people in the initial Selection novels. She was always such a great outlet and person, and I really adored her from the first chance we met her. I had always wondered how she ended up with the king, and seeing their selection process gave me a much better idea as to why she was in love with him and put up with him.

The Favorite

I LOVED THIS SO MUCH. During the Selection series, I always loved Marlee. Getting to see this from her perspective was fantastic, and seeing all of Maxon’s behind the scenes helping moments was so great. Marlee and her sweet guard were so dang cute, and seeing their story develop made me so happy. This was definitely the strongest out of all the novellas, and if you read any of these, this is the one I would go to first.

Overall, this companion novel was such a fun read! I loved getting to return to the original Selection characters, and this little bind up has several great additional features, and I think that it’s worth the read if you’ve read the series. If you’ve read this book, which novella was your favorite?

Happy Reading!

Taylor

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

Leave a Reply

