THE HIGHLAND KISS: KAREN MARIE MONING REVIEW

Hello lovelies! As you guys know, I’ve been working my way through the Highlanders series, and as I finished the fourth one, it’s time for another review. I’ve been loving this series, so let’s go ahead and get going.

A laird trapped between centuries…

Enchanted by a powerful spell, Highland laird Drustan MacKeltar slumbered for nearly five centuries hidden deep in a cave, until an unlikely savior awakened him. The enticing lass who dressed and spoke like no woman he’d ever known was from his distant future, where crumbled ruins were all that remained of his vanished world. Drustan knew he had to return to his own century if he was to save his people from a terrible fate. And he needed the bewitching woman by his side….

A woman changed forever in his arms…

Gwen Cassidy had come to Scotland to shake up her humdrum life and, just maybe, meet a man. How could she have known that a tumble down a Highland ravine would send her plunging into an underground cavern — to land atop the most devastatingly seductive man she’d ever seen? Or that once he’d kissed her, he wouldn’t let her go?

Bound to Drustan by a passion stronger than time, Gwen is swept back to sixteenth-century Scotland, where a treacherous enemy plots against them … and where a warrior with the power to change history will defy time itself for the woman he loves…

RATING: 4.5/5 STARS

This book was so good y’all! I’m pretty sure I’ve said it a thousand times, but Moning writes some of the best romances I’ve ever read. She creates these couples that are so well matched, and then she writes them into these fantastic stories, and UGH. I just adore them. In this go around, Gwen finds Drustan in a cave on accident, asleep. She wakes him up from the spell, and from there they work together to try to return at least Drustan to his time in order to save his clan.

As always, I loved the characters. Gwen was fiery and strong, and she complimented Drustan in the best way. Gwen was a super sassy character, and unlike some, she was genuinely smart, a fresh change. Drustan was great as well, and I adored him. He was an excellent compliment to Gwen, he was just as clever, and he was sweet and caring. They were one of those couples that had more in common than just their physical attraction to one another, and I thought that their relationship was great. They were willing to sacrifice for one another, and with that, they created a fantastic pair. Along with that, I loved how they take some elements of Scottish cultures and tie it into the story. I don’t know a ton about the lives and traditions of Highlanders, but if any of the ones discussed in this novel were even partially correct, then please send me back now.

Along with a great main character, I absolutely adored the characters around them. Drustan’s family was completely wonderful, and all of the small characters we met along the way only made the story all the better. Along with great characters, this book was so well executed. The story flowed great, and the writing was eloquent and well done. I think out of all of the books in this series, my favorite is still the first one, Beyond the Highland Mist, but this one is definitely a close second, and it defintiely  had a chance at stealing the most favorite spot.

Overall, I really loved this book! This series is such a great one, and it is quickly becoming one of my favorites. After I read Outlander, I was already in love with Highlanders and Scotland, but as I’ve been reading these books, I’m pretty sure that Scotland may be the place that I need to travel to the first chance I get. If you’ve never read this series, I can’t stress enough how much you should definitely give it a chance! It is well executed, romantic, and so worth your time. If you’ve read this one, what did you think? I would love to discuss it with you!

Love,

Taylor

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

Leave a Reply

