THE BOY MOST LIKELY TO: HUNTLEY FITZPATRICK REVIEW

Hey lovelies, its review time! Today we’re going to be discussing The Boy Most Likely To, by Huntley Fitzpatrick. This one is a contemporary romance with some of the same characters from My Life Next Door, which I really loved. In this one, we get to see Tim and Alice’s story, which was so different from what we saw in the previous two novels Huntley has written.

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

RATING: 4/5 STARS

I think that one of my favorite things about Huntley Fitzpatrick’s books is the way she writes relationships. With her books, she creates not only amazig romantic relationships, but also family and friend relationships that make my heart so warm. I’ve always loved contemporary books that include friendships and families, instead of strictly focusing on the romance, and that’s exactly what this one did. In the beginning, Tim moves in with the Garretts, and while he is with them, he develops all of these amazing relationships that totally transformed him as a character.

Tim was a character that changed entirely from the beginning of the story. In the beginning, he wanted to be a better person, and the reader was definitely able to see growth after he was hit with some serious adversity. He formed such strong relationships, and I loved reading about all of the love he recieved while he was with his second family. Alice was a strong willed gem. She fought for what she wanted, and supported the people she loved with an unwavering hand.

As a couple, they had such a great dynamic. They were able to help each other, and lean on one another over the course of the entire novel. Their romance developed at such a perfect pace. It wasn’t instalovey at all, and they became friends before the making out ensued. This story also used dual perspective, which allowed us to see what both of the character were thinking throughout the entire story. Sometimes with dual perspective voices get mixed together and it’s hard to tell the difference, but in this one that was never an issue.

This book was a fantastic addition to the Huntley Fitzpatrick regime. I thought that it was well written and absolutely adorable. The reason it didn’t get a full 5 stars was because I didn’t like it quite as much as I did the previous two books, but I still thought it was great. If you’ve read this one, I would love to hear your thoughts, so please feel free to share!

Happy Reading!

Taylor

Advertisements

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s