A MADNESS SO DISCREET: MINDY MCGINNIS REVIEW

Hey guys, it’s that time of the week again! Today I’m going to be discussing A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis. This book was definitely out of my usual wheel house, aside from the historical fiction part, but it sounded really interesting, and the cover is absolutely stunning. I had also heard praises sung over this one, so I thought it was only fair that I gave it a chance too.

Grace Mae knows madness.

She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum.

When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past.

In this beautifully twisted historical thriller, Mindy McGinnis, acclaimed author of Not a Drop to Drink and In a Handful of Dust, explores the fine line between sanity and insanity, good and evil—and the madness that exists in all of us.

RATING: 3/5 STARS

I’m just going to start out by saying that this book is weird. Like really, really weird. There were a lot of times where I was really confused as to what was going on, and it took me a while to catch up to what the heck she was talking about. I’m not sure if that was the plan, or if it was just a me thing, but not being able to follow it was something I took issue with.

Grace was a pretty interesting character to read about. She had some interesting character development, and over the course of the novel, she changes and revises her mold. Along with Grace, there’s Thornhollow who recruits her to help him solve cases, Sherlock Holmes style.

I think the best part of this book for me was the cases and the relationships that Grace builds within the asylum. The cases were really interesting and they made a ton of sense, and I think that they definitely what made the book keep flowing. My absolute favorite part of the entire story was the relationships she built with the other women at the asylum. All of the girls were so sweet, and the friendships they formed such a great element that I definitely wasn’t expecting.

Overall, this book wasn’t my favorite. I really liked the idea of the story more then I liked than what I was given. I think that this book had some really good elements, and I definitely see why some people loved it so much. While I didn’t love this, I did enjoy some parts of it and I don’t regret picking it up and giving it a chance. Have you guys read this one yet? If so, what did you think? I’d love to discuss it with you!

Happy Reading!

Taylor

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

Leave a Reply

