ELIXIR: HILARY DUFF REVIEW

Hey guys! I’m here with another review for you. One of my bookish goals for this year was to complete the Pop Sugar reading challenge, and this book was working towards that. For the challenges I didn’t have the books for, I decided to head over to the library and see what gems I could find there for free. One of the goals was to read a book written by a celebrity, and instead of picking up an autobiography, I figured reading a book written by one of my favorite childhood actresses was an even better option.

Clea Raymond has felt the glare of the spotlight her entire life. The daughter of a renowned surgeon and a prominent Washington DC politician, she has grown to be a talented photojournalist who takes refuge in a career that allows her to travel to the most exotic parts of the world. But after Clea’s father disappears while on a humanitarian mission, Clea’s photos begin to feature eerie, shadowy images of a strange and beautiful man—a man she has never seen before.

When fate brings Clea and this man together, she is stunned by the immediate and powerful connection she feels with him. As they grow closer, they are drawn deep into the mystery behind her father’s disappearance, and they discover the centuries old truth behind their intense bond. Torn by a dangerous love triangle and haunted by a powerful secret that holds their fates, together they race against time to unravel their pasts in order to save their lives—and their futures.

RATING: 3/5 STARS

This book was surprisingly good! When I went into it, I didn’t have super high expectations. Not because I didn’t think Hilary was capable of writing a book, but I wasn’t really sure how great the writing would be. Overall, the story flowed really well, and there weren’t any specific times that are popping out at me where I was lost or confused because of the style. Since Hilary wrote this with some extra help, I’m not sure how much she wrote herself, but as far as I’m concerned it was pretty solid teamwork.

This book had a really interesting premise, and there were lots of little aspects of it that blended well. First of all, we have what we think is a creepy stalker guy, and that’s always fun. Along with the mystery man, Clea is having some really interesting dreams that are showing her the lives of these four girls who she seems to resemble. Clea’s dad has also been missing for several months, so Clea is trying to figured why he never came back, and she is also trying to discover her connection with the man in her photographs. Throughout the course of the book, it was relatively fast paced, with the characters always moving and learning more as the story unfolds.

Clea is a pretty good character. At times she kind of irritated me, but for the most part, she was pretty enjoyable. Along with Clea there’s Ben and Sage, and I liked them both as well! Ben was a really good friend to Clea, and the story between Sage and Clea was great, learning about how they were entwined was what kept me engaged.

Overall, this book was pretty solid. It wasn’t anything spectacular, but I enjoyed it enough, and I thought that the storyline was pretty unique. At this point, I haven’t decided if I’m planning on continuing with the series, but I’m definitely leaning towards yes! If you’ve read this book, please share your thoughts, I would love to discuss them with you!

Love,

Taylor

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

Leave a Reply

