SLEEPING GIANTS: SYLVAIN NEUVEL REVIEW

Hey guys! It’s Friday, and it’s time for another review. Today we’re going to be discussing Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel. This book is a sci-fi thriller with metal giants and an extremely unique method of storytelling.

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

RATING: 2.5 STARS

Let me start off by saying that this isn’t a bad book. On this blog, I don’t think I’ve ever reviewed a book this low and it hurts me to do it, but Sleeping Giants just didn’t do it for me. The cover is gorgeous, there was an interesting premise and a unique format, however I was never able to get entirely sucked in which was a bummer. This book is formated in a way that I felt, really fit well with the story. The story was with journal entries, case files, and interviews, which means that any and all dialogue was expressed through these interviews mainly. I’d never read a book formated like this, and while it took a while to get used to, I ended up really digging it.

Going into this book, the big appeal was the idea that it was in the same vein as Iron Giant. I’ve always adored that movie, and when I saw that this one was supposedly related I knew I needed it. While they did address the Giant and it was at the center of the plot, it wasn’t near as important in the ways I wanted it to be. Essentially, the giant’s main role is to serve as a puzzle for these various characters to solve, and then at the end, drama ensued.

For me, one of the most important parts of a good book is one that character driven, and connecting to the characters is key.  To be completely honest, I didn’t feel connected to them at all, which made it really hard for me to like this one. I didn’t care about what happened to them, and for me that’s enough to be bored for the rest of the story, no matter how action packed i ended up being.

I also felt like the story was maybe a little choppy at times. This could be because of the format, but I had a hard time staying interested which didn’t help either. All in all, I was really disappointed in this one. I thought it was going to be one of my new favorites and it just didn’t end up like that. All of that being said, I do think that a lot of people would really enjoy this one, and the fact that I didn’t like it could’ve just been a me problem. If you’ve read this one, please share your thoughts I would love to hear them!

Happy Reading!

Taylor

Advertisements

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

2 thoughts on “SLEEPING GIANTS: SYLVAIN NEUVEL REVIEW”

  1. Oh no!! I’ve been wanting to read this one! The Iron Giant is one of my favorite movies. But I don’t think I’ll have a problem with the journal entries, so I’ll still give it a shot. But it’s a little disheartening to hear 😦

    1. I was so sad that I didn’t like it more, because I was so excited about it and I had heard such great things! Definitely give it a shot though because I really did like the format, the story just didn’t do it for me. I hope you end up liking it!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s