STARCROSSED SERIES: JOSEPHINE ANGELINI REVIEW

Hello Lovelies! Today we’re going to be discussing an extra exciting, extra special series review. I recently finished the Starcrossed series, and it has definitely snuck its way up into my top favorite series. On top of these words inside being absolutely brilliant, the covers on these suckers are absolutely stunning, I almost can’t handle it. Alright, so lets get down to business so you guys can go out and read it for yourselves!

How do you defy DESTINY?

Helen Hamilton has spent her entire sixteen years trying to hide how different she is – no easy task on an island as small and sheltered as Nantucket. And it’s getting harder. Nightmares of a desperate desert journey have Helen waking parched, only to find her sheets damaged by dirt and dust. At school she’s haunted by hallucinations of three women weeping tears of blood… and when Helen first crosses paths with Lucas Delos, she has no way of knowing they’re destined to play the leading roles in a tragedy the Fates insist on repeating throughout history.

As Helen unlocks the secrets of her ancestry, she realizes that some myths are more than just legend. But even demigod powers might not be enough to defy the forces that are both drawing her and Lucas together – and trying to tear them apart.

Author: Josephine Angelini

Publisher: Harper Teen

Pages: 487 // 487 // 421

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Greek Mythology

Rating: 4.75/5

Let’s just start off with me telling y’all how much I absolutely adored this series. When I picked it up, I honestly never expected to get as attached to the story and the characters as I did. On top of writing characters that I fell in love with, the plot and storylines that all weave together throughout these three books are SO AMAZING WOW.

Our heroine Helen, is a demigod and she is one of the strongest, most fantastic main characters I’ve ever read about. I absolutely adored her, and over the course of the series she developed into this total badass. Then we have Lucas, who is so swoon worthy, I can’t. He is just as important to the story as Helen is, and rather than taking a backseat, the two of them worked to pass all of the obstacles that they came across (trust me there were a ton). On top of the Helen and Lucas, we also have some really amazing side characters. There are several characters that are really vital to the story that we get to meet and I love them almost as much as I love Helen and Lucas.

These books are really fast paced, which I loved. Over the course of the series, there are tons of twists and turns, and the books definitely work to keep you on the edge of your seat. Along with being paced well, throughout the entire series, Josephine ties in Helen of Troy and some other greek elements in a way that was without a shadow of a doubt made the story so much stronger. Tying in elements from the original Helen gave the story such an extra edge. She tells it in a way that shed extra light on what Helen went through, and why she did what she did. Since the original story has such a heartbreaking ending seeing the two compared side by side gave me so many feels, and I thought it added so much to the series.

Overall, I would highly recomend this series, and I have quite the mini book hangover after finishing it. If you like Greek mythology at all then please, please do yourself a favor and read this series.

Happy Reading!

Taylor

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

Leave a Reply

