NOVEMBER 9: COLLEEN HOOVER REVIEW

HAPPY SATURDAY!

I hope you guys have all had a really great week, and are enjoying for a relaxing, fun weekend. Can you believe that Thanksgiving is in less than two weeks? That’s so crazy, this year has flown by. Today I have a review for you, and truthfully, this may be the hardest review I have ever had to write since I started blogging. This book was one of my most anticipated books of 2015, and it definitely didn’t disappoint. I actually finished it a few days ago, and I was left so speechless that I had to wait because I wanted to give you guys the best review I could possibly muster. Let’s go ahead and get started, if you have read November 9 yet, let me know what you thought, I would love to see some of your opinions!

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publisher: Atria

Pages: 310

Genre: New Adult

Rating: 5/5

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day of her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

I’m going to give you some warning, and say that truthfully, I’m not sure how this review is about to go. I cried (like ugly cried), laughed, and fell in love while I read this, and trying to articulate my thoughts is going to be difficult, but because I want everyone to read this book, I think that this review is so worth it.

Let’s start with the plot and the book as a whole. The plot of this book is brilliant. It is told over the span of years, and Fallon and Ben meet once a year on, you’ve guessed it, November 9th. I’ve never read a book like this before, and the way it flowed went off without a hitch. From year to year, it didn’t feel like we were missing out on what was going on in the character’s lives, and it truly made the time Ben and Fallon spent together seem all the more special. This method also made the huge plot twists all the more heartbreaking because as readers, you knew that they weren’t able to get together and fix it, they had to wait a whole year, hoping that everything would wok out and that their hearts would find their way back together (these moments definitely created lots and lots of tears, like ugly crying tears, my roommates thought I was having a breakdown). With this in mind, I also want to mention that the writing style of Colleen is so incredibly beautiful. From the first CoHo book I ever read, I have always loved her style, and she writes in a way that is so incredibly moving and perfect for her killer plots, that I would read anything and everything she releases. Even if it was in some obscure genre that I disliked, I would pick it up, and probably love it strictly because of how great she is as a writer.

Ben and Fallon are two of the best characters I have ever read about. Ben, a writer, is so incredibly hilarious and so so sweet to Fallon, which makes him such an awesome main character. I found myself feeling super swoony, making him a freaking awesome book boyfriend. Fallon is one of the funniest, sassiest characters ever! She has such a mind of her own, and I love that she was able to be so open with Ben after such a short period of time.

There are so many wonderful scenes in this book. Colleen is just such a wonderful writer, and I loved everything about this one. After reading every single one of her books, I truthfully can’t tell you a favorite because I love them all for different reasons. That being said, November 9 is definitely pretty high up there. If you haven’t had a chance to pick this up yet, please do yourself a favor and go get your hands on a copy of this sucker, I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Happy Reading!

Taylor

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

3 thoughts on “NOVEMBER 9: COLLEEN HOOVER REVIEW”

  1. Hey! I absolutely cannot wait to read this book! Thanks to you, I absolutely fell in love with CoHo’s novels and I cannot stop reading them! I just finished reading Ugly Love (it was incredible and I broke down in tears towards the end). As you said, CoHo has a way with words and the characters and stories she creates are incredible! Wishing you all the best!

Leave a Reply

