BALANCING READING AND COLLEGE: TIPS

Hey everyone!

I hope you are all having a great week, today I have an exciting post for you. I’m going to try and give you some tips and tricks that I have used to try and fit some reading every day. I definitely don’t have a fool proof system, but it works out well for the most part, I can’t wait to share it with you!

1. Read at the same time everyday, schedules are so helpful.

For me, if I set aside a certain amount of time to read, normally right before bed, I tend to stick with it. I normally read until I’m tired, and then I put my book away so I can sleep. For this to work, you have to pick a time that works best for you, so whether its between classes or after lunch, create a plan that works for you!

2. If you’re studying, take breaks, and if you want, read!

This is my new favorite method! When I’m studying I will study for 40 minutes, then read for 20. I tend to focus better because I’m able to focus on my studying, and then I am able to take a mental break and do what ever I want. For this tip, it can apply to anything, so if you want to watch Netflix for a break, go for it. 

3. Pick books that are easier and don’t require a ton of brain power.

My new favorite genre to read since I’ve gotten to college is new adult, because it requires limited to no effort. As much as I would love to read a super long fantasy book, it’s too hard for me to dedicate  enough effort and time to a book that requires a decent amount of thought. As of now, I’m going to dedicate my breaks and summers to some of the books that I want to read but also want to fully appreciate.

4. Keep a book handy.

No matter where you’re headed, always take a book with you. If there is always one with you and you have some spare time, you can just whip it out and read some!

5. If you don’t feel like reading, don’t make yourself.

This is the most important rule of all! If you don’t feel like reading, please, please don’t force it. You don’t want to make something you enjoy a chore, and if you are constantly forcing it, you could ruin it for yourself. Sometimes I feel like watching movies, so when I do, that exactly what I do. It’s important to use your free time in a way that makes you happy, and the more you force it, the less happy you will feel.

I hope these are so, so helpful, and happy reading!

Taylor

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

3 thoughts on “BALANCING READING AND COLLEGE: TIPS”

  1. This is great advice! I just started college in August and I will definitely implement these tips into my daily routine when the next semester starts. It was a struggle at first to adjust (and left me sad because I could not find time to read as much as I wanted to), but after adjusting, I know I will be able to keep your tips in mind and make time for fun reading. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

