MAGONIA: MARIA DAHVANA HEADLEY REVIEW

I received an electronic advanced copy of this book via Edelweiss from Harper Collins in exchange for an honest review, and all thoughts in this review are strictly my own. Thank you Harper Collins for this opportunity!

Author: Maria Dahvana Headley 

Publisher: Harper Collins

Pages: 320

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Rating: 4/5

Neil Gaiman’s Stardust meets John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars in this fantasy about a girl caught between two worlds… two races…and two destinies.

Aza Ray is drowning in thin air. 

Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak—to live. 

So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name.

Only her best friend, Jason, listens. Jason, who’s always been there. Jason, for whom she might have more-than-friendly feelings. But before Aza can consider that thrilling idea, something goes terribly wrong. Aza is lost to our world—and found, by another. Magonia. 

Above the clouds, in a land of trading ships, Aza is not the weak and dying thing she was. In Magonia, she can breathe for the first time. Better, she has immense power—and as she navigates her new life, she discovers that war is coming. Magonia and Earth are on the cusp of a reckoning. And in Aza’s hands lies the fate of the whole of humanity—including the boy who loves her. Where do her loyalties lie?

To be honest, Magonia was one of the weirdest books I’ve ever read. That’s not to say I didn’t like it, because I really really liked it! The entire story was one of the most interesting I’ve ever read, and I enjoyed all of it! I felt myself reading on because I was so drawn in by the storyline, and the whole world was so brilliant and inventive that all of the different aspects molded together in the best way possible! 

So let’s talk about Aza for a second. The way her storyline played out was so awesome! When she was on earth, seeing her relationship with Jason, Eli, and her parents was just so sweet, and I loved how sarcastic and witty she always was. When she finally was up on the ship, I really liked how she grew into her powers. She has always been so used to struggling to breathe, seeing her not only breathe but flourish and decipher this new environment was great. She was just an overall strong character and seeing the way she handled herself was so awesome. Jason was such a great best friend! He cared about Aza so much, and all of the scenes with the two of them just made me so excited. I also really liked reading some of the story from his perspective, it really gave the reader some added information that we would have skipped out on.

The entire plot line and setting of Magonia was so well thought out, I honestly had my mind blown on multiple occasions. The way the birds were weaved in was so fasinating, and I loved the importance they had in the story. The ship sounded like so much fun, and I honestly wanted to go and see what it was like to fly around with those cool whales.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book! It is one of the most unique stories I have ever read, and if it sounds interesting to you, today is the release day, so you should go check it out!

Taylor

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

Leave a Reply

