CITY LOVE: SUSAN COLASANTI REVIEW

A special thanks to Katherine Tegen books for sending me an electronic version of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Author: Susan Colasanti 

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Pages: 336

Genre: YA Contemporary 

Rating: 3/5

Sadie, Darcy, and Rosanna are living together in New York City the summer before their freshman year of college begins. With no parents, no rules, and an entire city to explore, these three girls are on the verge of the best summer of their lives.

Sadie is a native New Yorker. She is hopeful, romantic, and an eternal optimist who is ready to find her soul mate. Then she meets her dream boy: cute, funny, and quirky in all the right ways. The chemistry between them is unreal. Could he be the one?

Darcy is a free spirit from SoCal with rebellious tendencies and unlimited financial resources. Moving to New York City is just another adventure for her. Darcy wants this summer to be all about boy adventures—nothing serious. But how much fun is too much?

Rosanna leaves Chicago for NYC so she can put her past behind her and reinvent herself. The only thing standing in her way is the grand total of seventy-three cents she has saved. Then she meets a guy who wants to show her the glamorous side of New York—a side that she would never get to experience on her own. If Rosanna doesn’t resist, she may find herself in city love.

Told from alternating points of view, City Love captures the moments in each girl’s life when everything is thrilling, amazing, and terrifying all at once . . . in a way it will never be again.

Let me just start off by giving you guys my overall thoughts. This book was pretty good, and I enjoyed the way each chapter was told from a different girls perspective. It was really interesting, and I liked hearing each girls stream of consciousness. Also, three girls equals three various love stories!

The main reason this book didn’t receive a higher rating from me was because I found it pretty cut and dry, especially in the beginning. The characters seemed to all fit a certain cookie cutter, and although there was character development, I found some characters slightly frustrating and annoying.

Now I’m going to tell you what I liked about this book! At the end, each girls love story had a big plot twist, which is the main reason I will be picking up the sequel when it’s released. I also really liked the three love interests. Even though some of them have a good amount of baggage, they were very likable, and I definitely understand the reason the girls fell for them. 

Now I’m going to discuss each individual girls story line a little. My least favorite was Sadie’s. The insta-love was plentiful in this story, but it’s the one I’m the most anxious to see the end of. Sadie was super upbeat and happy, and extra anxious to fall in love, which ended up getting her into trouble. Then we have Rosanna, who I loved! She was extra relatable personality wise, and although I can’t relate to her circumstances, seeing her develop as a character was fantastic. Character development was also very well done with Darcy and I’m really excited to see what path she decides to take!

Let me know in the comments below if you plan on picking this one up, and if you have, what did you think?

Taylor

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

Leave a Reply

