FINDING PARIS: JOY PREBLE REVIEW

I want to thank Balzer + Bray for sending me an electronic copy of this book via Edelweiss in exchange for a honest review. The thoughts in this review are strictly my own.

Author: Joy Preble 

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Pages: 272

Genre: YA Contemporary 

Rating: 4/5

An evocative and compelling story of two sisters who would do anything for each other–perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Speak. Joy Preble’s stirring new novel explores the lengths to which sisters go to protect each other, and the winding road that brings two strangers into each other’s lives.
Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind–going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love. But Leo isn’t going anywhere right now, except driving around Vegas all night with her sister.
Until Paris ditches Leo at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris–a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared? When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold inside.

When I decided I wanted to read this book, I went into it relatively blind, and I’m so glad I did! The plot line was full of so many twists and turns, the character development was fantastic, and I just adored the entire book. It wasn’t romance heavy, although there is a slight undertone throughout the entire novel, and the relationship between the two sisters, Leo and Paris, was so sweet. They obviously really care about each other, and that dynamic really shined through.

I want to start off by addressing the characters in the story. To begin with I really loved the sisters. Paris was outgoing and caring, whereas Leo was a little bit more reserved and sassy, and even though I liked her, she definitely had a knack for putting up walls. Max was so great, I absolutely loved him and his kind heart. As you see the story unravel, it was great to hear about his past, and the way he helped Leo was so heart melting. Max was also a really important part of Leo’s character development, by helping her break down those walls she had put up.

There were multiple plot twists in this story, and to be honest they really suprised me. Although I had a few hunches about where the storyline was headed, I was actually wrong. It’s been a while since a contemporary novel actually had me at the edge of my seat because I wanted to know what was going on so bad.

All in all, this is a fantastic book, with an equally fantastic plot, and I highly recommend it! I will definitely be picking up my own copy of this so that I can reread it someday, and you can pick up yours on the 21st, just a few days away!

Hope you guys enjoyed this review!

Taylor

Author: taylor

i really love ice cream, coffee + tea, and really good books. self proclaimed bibliophile who loves everything to do with reading, here's a little peek into my bookish adventures. ((favorite genres: young adult, new adult, fantasy, and basically anything with a touch of romance))

Leave a Reply

